Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Generations Together: Learning from young activists and adult allies

January 23, 2021 @ 9:00 am 10:30 am

A global conversation with young activists from Bolivia, Senegal, Togo, and the United States about intergenerational collaboration and how adults can most effectively support youth activism.  Bridging diverse contexts and struggles, including climate justice, working children’s rights, and young people’s participation in the design and implementation of public policy, this webinar will explore different approaches to allyship and the challenges and potential for adults and young people to work together in pursuit of a more just and sustainable world.

90 minute webinar on Saturday, January 23rd at 5pm GMT, noon EST, 9am PST

Featuring:

Youth vs. Apocalypse — a Bay-Area based diverse network of young climate justice activists working together to lift the voices of youth, in particular youth of color, and fight for a livable climate and an equitable, sustainable, and just world. 

Act2gether Bolivia — a social movement promoting partnership between children and adults across sectors in order to create a fair and sustainable world.

The African Movement of Working Children and Youth — a child-led organization that trains victims to become actors for their own protection, influencing their communities for children to be born and grow in good conditions, to enjoy their full rights to thrive, while helping their communities to develop harmoniously in peace and in a favorable environment.

In partnership with: Univ. of Sussex, Children and Work, Save the Children, Proteknon, Learning For Well-Being Foundation, and the Institute for Social Transformation.

For more info contact: Jessica Taft, Professor of Latin American and Latino Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz at jtaft@ucsc.edu